Manipur Election 2017: Campaigning ends for second phase

By | March 7, 2017

Manipur Election 2017: Campaigning ends for second phase. There will voting for 22 seats on 8 march 2017.Toatal 98 candidates are in the fray  for second phase. on 8 march,22 seats will be covered.
The polling will be held in the valley district of Thoubal and the hill districts of Ukhrul,Chandel,Tamenglong, and Senapeti.All big names in the north east states politics  including Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh,Deputy CM Gaikhangam and human rights activists  politician iron Sharmila will be decided  in this phase.
Sharmila fasted for 16 years for repeal of AFSPA  from the state is in the election fray for the first time and is pitted against Ibobi Singh himself in Thoubal constituency.
The first phase of voting when 38 seats went to  the poll took place on 4 march and recorded a huge voter turnout of 84%.Congress party president sonia gandhi,who has not been keeping well,did not campaign in the state.
The congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi,who addressed  a rally here on 28 february.BJP held rallies by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 25 february and by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh  on 19 february.
Congress accused BJP of compromising with the territorial integrity of Manipur,BJP denied the allegation.
The Naga peace Accords, termed a ‘framework agreement’ was signed between NSCN(IM) and the center inaugust 2015.The indefinite economic blockade since 1 november,2016, has been imposed by united Naga Council against  Manipur gonernment’s decision to carve out seven new districts from exciting ones. Supply of essential commodities, including fuel to the landlocked state has been severely hit in the indifinite economic blockade on NH2 (via Dimapur) and NH37 (via Jiribam ).The two  life lines to the state.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *